Beer Labels

hey, I won a small award for a label design I did. I could have probably won 2 but I didn’t enter the second label. I’ll explain why later.

So, last year on 07-07-07 a group of us got together and brewed 3 beers to the tune of about 18 gallons! One of those was a big IPA at the request of a doctor friend, DrGebs. So Doctor’s Orders IPA was born using a number of malts and 5 types of hops! It was big and delicious to boot. Naturally it needed a cool label. Oddly this would be my first true label design after years of brewing and many more years of design experience! So here’s a look at what I created.

My favorite part about the label are the abbreviations and “doctor speak.” It basically says to take as prescribed by mouth and the OD (overdose) treatment is YOYO meaning You’re On Your Own. Ha!

So I entered it into the Brew Your Own Magazines annual label contest and for my efforts was rewarded with a $25 gift certificate to a brewing supply company in PA. The fact that it was chosen and will be published in the next issue of BYO is worth more to me than the gift certificate.

As for the other label, well, I decided not to enter it due to the fact that it’s already placed on over 1000 bottles of Fireball Mead! This label was created for the American Homebrewer’s Conference Commemorative Mead that will be given to each attendee of this year’s convention being held right here in my backyard of Cincinnati.

That’s cool enough for me as it is! Oh and if you dig it… go order a T-shirt with this or one of my other TWO designs to commemorate this years conference and special beer.
www.brewingdownthehaus.com

Published in: on June 6, 2008 at 12:52 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://harkjohnny.wordpress.com/2008/06/06/beer-labels/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment